EASA Flight Time Limitations (FTL)

From 18 February 2016 Commercial Air Transport operators of aeroplanes will need to have transitioned to EASA Subpart FTL. Operators can transition before this date and most major airlines plan to transition by October 2015 for the start of the winter season.

Further guidance materials and supporting documents on FTL are available:

Commission Regulation (EU) No 83/2014
Air OPS Regulation - Flight Time Limitations (FTL) and rest requirements for commercial air transport (CAT) operations with aeroplanes

Certification Specifications and Guidance Material for Commercial Air Transport by Aeroplane — Scheduled and Charter Operations

Acceptable Means of Compliance (AMC) and Guidance Material (GM) to Part-ORO (Subpart FTL)

EASA FTL Regulations Combined Document by UK CAA


Who is affected?

The regulations apply to: Commercial Air Transport aeroplane operators

However, the following groups are currently exempt from the regulations:

  • Air taxi operators of aeroplanes of 19 seats or less
  • Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
  • Single pilot operations
  • Helicopter operations